Arcadia Luminaire 48"

Postby KittyKat » 2005-12-10 23:07

are these any good?
are they available without the tubes as it would be for a trop rather then a SW tank?
how well do they concentrate the light?

<a href='http://www.aquariumsuperstore.co.uk/mall/arcadialuminaires.asp' target='_blank'>click here to see what they look like</a>

what do you guys think about them for my 4ft?
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
User avatar
KittyKat
Site admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: 2005-09-04 14:50
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Kev » 2005-12-10 23:11

I have seen these in action over FW, really good and they look very nice aswell. They are available in FW version aswell.....

<a href='http://www.surreypetsupplies.co.uk/acatalog/Arcadia_Overtank_Luminaires_Freshwater_T5_Lamps.html' target='_blank'>http://www.surreypetsupplies.co.uk/acatalo...r_T5_Lamps.html</a>

As for ligt coverage..... it is all pretty even and the plants just looked awesome

Hope it helps
Kev
Addicted member
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: 2005-10-21 19:08
Location: Widnes, UK

Postby Indigo Blue Fish » 2005-12-10 23:12

Oooh Pretty! I want one. But Erwin would try to jump out. Hmm. Well, if I ever set up a SW - I'll get one. Looks nice.
*Is sleep deprived - sorry. Off to bed methinks*
User avatar
Indigo Blue Fish
Addicted member
 
Posts: 5132
Joined: 2005-10-18 19:42
Location: England

Postby KittyKat » 2005-12-10 23:21

lol the prices are twice those on the site i found!

what i'm mostly conserned about is light being visible from under the "hood" to ppl sitting on the couch next to the tank...
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
User avatar
KittyKat
Site admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: 2005-09-04 14:50
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Sam » 2005-12-10 23:24

Are you going for T5s or T8s?
<img src='http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/8835/wkdsig3qp.png' border='0' alt='user posted image'><br>--------------------<br><a href='http://allfishforums.com/TropicalFish/index.php?showtopic=531&st=0#entry823364' target='_blank'><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'></a><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'>
User avatar
Sam
Addicted member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: 2005-10-18 15:21

Postby Kev » 2005-12-10 23:25

Obviously there will be some light lost to the surrounding but from what I saw I don't think it was too much. I will probably get a FW sone for my 15g anyway..... going to have a try at Aquascaping on that and just keep a small shoal of small Tetras and plenty of Cherry shimp...... and maybe some of my home bred Killies ^_^
Kev
Addicted member
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: 2005-10-21 19:08
Location: Widnes, UK

Postby KittyKat » 2005-12-10 23:30

T8s... is there much difference?

i will have to change the tudes anyways as i've got FW & the SW ones will just be too bright...
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
User avatar
KittyKat
Site admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: 2005-09-04 14:50
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Sam » 2005-12-10 23:31

T5s are more powerful and have greater water penetration.
<img src='http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/8835/wkdsig3qp.png' border='0' alt='user posted image'><br>--------------------<br><a href='http://allfishforums.com/TropicalFish/index.php?showtopic=531&st=0#entry823364' target='_blank'><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'></a><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'>
User avatar
Sam
Addicted member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: 2005-10-18 15:21

Postby Kev » 2005-12-10 23:31

T5s have a higher output than T8s (for some reason it works backwards)
Kev
Addicted member
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: 2005-10-21 19:08
Location: Widnes, UK

Postby KittyKat » 2005-12-10 23:34

oh well, there ya go: T5s would be worse for me as there's only 18in water max!
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
User avatar
KittyKat
Site admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: 2005-09-04 14:50
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Sam » 2005-12-10 23:36

You'd be suprised. Even if theres only 18" a good deal of light is lost, although it may not be visible.
<img src='http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/8835/wkdsig3qp.png' border='0' alt='user posted image'><br>--------------------<br><a href='http://allfishforums.com/TropicalFish/index.php?showtopic=531&st=0#entry823364' target='_blank'><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'></a><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'>
User avatar
Sam
Addicted member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: 2005-10-18 15:21

Postby Kev » 2005-12-10 23:37

But the majority of lighting we have now for FW is T8 anyway... so nothing is too bad but I may personally go for the T5
Kev
Addicted member
 
Posts: 2642
Joined: 2005-10-21 19:08
Location: Widnes, UK

Postby Sam » 2005-12-10 23:39

Think of it as being T8s being "basic" and T5s being an upgrade.
<img src='http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/8835/wkdsig3qp.png' border='0' alt='user posted image'><br>--------------------<br><a href='http://allfishforums.com/TropicalFish/index.php?showtopic=531&st=0#entry823364' target='_blank'><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'></a><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'>
User avatar
Sam
Addicted member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: 2005-10-18 15:21

Postby KittyKat » 2005-12-10 23:40

i'll have a look at the LFS tomorrow or next week... can you guys do that as well plz as i have a suspicion that mine doesn't stock Luminaires :pff:
Kat
stock list | main display tank | 60 litre cycle log (aka, guide for beginners) | Flickr
User avatar
KittyKat
Site admin
 
Posts: 6873
Joined: 2005-09-04 14:50
Location: Norwich, UK

Postby Sam » 2005-12-10 23:41

Nor does mine, they'll be cheaper online anyway. That Surrey Pet Supplies is the one of the cheapest places I've seen them.
<img src='http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/8835/wkdsig3qp.png' border='0' alt='user posted image'><br>--------------------<br><a href='http://allfishforums.com/TropicalFish/index.php?showtopic=531&st=0#entry823364' target='_blank'><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'></a><img src='http://i27.photobucket.com/albums/c185/Quirlys/Webpage%20-%20links/POTMRibbon.jpg' border='0' alt='user posted image'>
User avatar
Sam
Addicted member
 
Posts: 1495
Joined: 2005-10-18 15:21

Next

Return to Equipment & DIY

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron